Little spheres

julian birthday 5 anni 021The expected yearly moment to produce our toys for Julian’s classmates has come. Our kindergarden teacher,Chiara, told us the kids were 22. So I’ve been piping out into the thought several times during the summer, waiting for an inspiration. ‘What about 22 little horses?..no too much time to knit them’…’22 little gnomes?…no, no time for making them’. I really would like to make them have a gorgeous present, something that they enjoy, I felt like a father Christmas!

Yes, there’s a tradition at every Waldorf school in the world: the child who is having birthday, will have to give a present to his or her friends. And I love this tradition. The teacher make him wear a crown and a Golden mantel, she makes him choose two noblemen, who wear two mantels as well. Then they sing sweet songs. She tells him a special story for his birthday and she gives him her special present. (This year the surprise was a stunning fishing stick with felt fishes. They had calamites in thei mouth, so they could really fish them. Very clever!)

At least, I decided to make some spheres with felted wool. I found some tutorial on the net on how to woolfelt balls and it was really easy, because my laundry machine helped me in this delicate operation.

I don’t like production of more items that much, being honest. I love the act of freedom in creating something for the very first time, but I don’t like it, If I have to produce it as a second time , what a bore! julian birthday 5 anni 019

Anyway I did it and in the picture you can see how it came out! I think a good job! I like them! And the day of the party, it seemed the kids enjoyed them too.

Leave a comment